Do You Know Which Is the Best Mattress for Back Pain?


Foam for back pain in Northern Beaches%0A_Luxafoam NorthA few days before one of my friends asked me whether I know what kind of mattress is best for back pain. She was actually having a very hard time falling asleep and staying asleep. She basically has sciatica and back problems and so sleeping on the right mattress was very essential for her.

I initially thought the firmest mattress to be the best one for such problems, but I wasn’t actually pretty sure of it. So, what I did is studied some medical literature to find out the best mattress for back pain. I found out that I had a wrong idea. Firmer doesn’t mean better for back pain. And to my surprise what I found out is that there are many doctors who suggest to go for firmer ones to deal with back pain.

The medium firm mattresses are better than the firm mattresses for dealing with back pain problems. Patients who have slept on a medium firm mattresses reported that they had less pain while they were in the bed, experienced less pain when rising from the bed, less day-time low back pain and less disability because of the back pain. These kinds of mattress offer good support when distributing the pressure points on the body when lying in the bed. But a mattress, which is too soft is just as bad for lower back pain as the mattress, which is too firm. It is even important to upgrade the mattress as well as the bedding to new if you’ve low back pain and the mattress is 8 years old.

So, a medium firm mattress is good for people with back problems. I also found out one more thing-that people who sleep on memory foam mattresses and water beds have improved back pain symptoms, sleep quality and back function than the hard mattresses. But here I would like to say one thing. Once I slept in a water bed, but didn’t like it. I felt like I was in a row boat. However, I don’t know about you-how would you feel!

Foam in sydneyBeds with a medium firm mattress, layered with a memory foam as well as latex provides significant improvement in both shoulder and back pain. So, the best mattress for back pain is the one which has memory foam in it. But the question is where to find the best foam in Sydney for back problems. Searching around to find quality foam is like getting your tooth drilled at a dentist without Novocaine. Look for companies that offer Australian made Dunlop foam in Sydney for your mattress.

One thought on “Do You Know Which Is the Best Mattress for Back Pain?

Leave a Reply

